About Us

The North American Society for Serbian Studies (NASSS) was founded in 1978 as a non-profit, scholarly organization. Its main objective is to promote research and advance knowledge of Serbian Studies and to increase public awareness and understanding of Serbia, its culture and people. The society reaches its constituents through publication of the journal Serbian Studies, organization of meetings, sponsorship of public events, and participation in conferences, such as the annual convention of the Association for Slavic, East European and Eureasian Studies (ASEEES). NASSS works closely with universities and cultural institutions in Serbia in order to facilitate sharing of scholarly information and exchange opportunities for scholars and students. The society also seeks to collaborate closely with scholars from around the world whose research focuses on Serbian studies.

The Mihajlo "Misa" Djordjevic Book Prize is awarded annually to a distinguished scholar or student in the area of Serbian studies.


Chair: Slobodanka Vladiv-Glover (Slobodanka.Vladivglover@monash.edu)
Rajka Gorup (rjg26@columbia.edu),
Jelena Milojkovic-Djuric (djuricjelena@aol.com),
Ranka Gajic (rankag@aol.com) (left Committee)
Thomas Popovich (popovi4@ncc.edu),
Ljubica D. Popovich
Dragana Zivanovic (dragana11062@gmail.com)

The recipient of the 2013 "Mihajlo Misha Djordjevic" Book Award is Radmila Gorup for the collection "After Yugoslavia: The Cultural Spaces of a Vanished Land", Stanford University Press, 2013.

The recipient of the 2012 "Mihajlo Misha Djordjevic" Book Award was Tomislav Z. Longinovic for his book "Vampire Nation: Violence as Cultural Imaginary", Duke University Press, 2012.

The recipient of Mihajlo Misha Djordjevic Book Prize for 2009 is Gregory A. Freeman for his book The Forgotten 500: The Untold Story of the Men Who Risked All for the Greatest Rescue Mission of World War II.

Nominations should be sent to Slobodanka Vladiv-Glover by 15 May 2016: Slobodanka.Vladivglover@monash.edu

Votes are sent by email to the Committee Chair after she circulates the nominations. The Chair reports on the outcome of the vote count. If there is a tie, the whole Committee is asked to decide on the winner or winners.

Previous recipients of this award include Charles Simic, the fifteenth Poet Laureate of the United States.


With regret we have to inform all interested parties that NASSS will not be able to finance any panels or individual members in 2017 with any amount. Please revisit this page in 2017 for information about funding possibilities in 2018.

For financial aid in 2017 apply directly to ASEEES only.
Link to ASEEES Travel Awards is here.

Guidelines for applications:

Candidates need to supply the following documentation:

  1. Original letter of panel/paper acceptance from ASEEES
  2. CV
  3. Abstract of paper OR panel/roundtable description (in the case of the latter, please include names and institutional affiliation of the other participants, as well as titles of their presentations)

Criteria for financial aid:

All applications are read by the NASSS Executive Board and a limited amount of grants will be awarded based on the following criteria:

Awardees' obligations to NASSS:

Please email applications in single .pdf file directly to President of NASSS.
Candidates will be notified of NASSS decision by July 5.

NASSS Annual Meetings

Each year, NASSS holds its annual meeting at the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ASEEES) annual convention.




Tomislav Z. Longinovic
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Vice President
Nada Petkovic-Djordjevic
University of Chicago

Danilo Tomasevic
San Francisco State University

Sonja Kotlica
Washington, D.C.

Nada Petkovic-Djordjevic
University of Chicago

Milica Bakic-Hayden
University of Pittsburgh

Lilien Filipovic-Robinson
George Washington University

Radmila J. Gorup
Columbia University

Ljubica D. Popovich
Vanderbilt University

Slobodanka M. Vladiv-Glover
Monash University, Australia

Past presidents